The Covid-19 pandemic has put physical distance between many families, especially for those living in different countries. Many of Alserv’s seniors, who avail our elder care services in Chennai and other places in India, have children and relatives living abroad. After 18 months of the pandemic and back-to-back lockdowns, they’re itching to reunite.

However, the Omicron variant is playing spoilsport again. International travel restrictions in many countries are back. Travel abroad is becoming fraught with rules and regulations. But this doesn’t mean that you can’t travel at all. Essential travel is allowed in most countries and if you absolutely want to fly to meet your family, then here are the restrictions in different countries you need to know about:

1. United States of America

The US is only allowing fully-vaccinated individuals to enter the country. You will need a WHO-approved vaccination proof to be able to travel to the United States. Additionally, you will also need to get tested and show a negative Covid-19 test report that’s no older than a day of when you’re arriving there. If you test positive upon arrival, you will be subject to institutional quarantine. If travelling from at-risk countries (which India is not a part of yet), you will be required to self-isolate for seven days even if your tests are negative.

2. United Kingdom

Travelling to the UK is simpler as compared to other countries. As of now, you only have to show proof of vaccination and take a lateral flow test to show negative results on day two of entry into the country. Prime Minister Boris Johnson has done away with quarantine restrictions for those with negative results.

3. Canada

To enter Canada, you need a negative COVID-19 molecular test result from the Genestrings Laboratory in Delhi, which needs to be obtained 18 hours before your departure. If you have already got Covid and recovered from it, then you can submit a positive molecular test from a certified diagnostics lab in India, which needs to be 10-180 days before your departure. If you are travelling via an indirect route, you will need to submit a pre-departure negative molecular test from that country.

4. Singapore

Singapore is allowing fully-vaccinated individuals to enter the country and take a Covid-19 test upon arrival. If negative, there are no quarantine requirements. For non-vaccinated travellers, the country’s health
guidelines will apply.

5. Malaysia

Malaysia requires a PCR test to be taken on arrival into the country. With full vaccination, you will be required to quarantine for seven days and wear a digital tracker to monitor any changes. On the seventh day, you will be tested again and discharged from quarantine if negative. You can apply for a home quarantine seven to 10 days before travelling to Malaysia. You will have to provide your itinerary passport, visa, proof of vaccination and residential address.

6. UAE and Bahrain

If you want to travel to Dubai, then you need to present a negative RT-PCR test upon arrival,  that is no older than 48 hours with a valid QR code. You will also have to undergo another Covid-19 test upon arrival that will be conducted within 6 hours of departure. The same rules are applicable for Bahrain, when it comes to vaccinated individuals. If you are not fully vaccinated, you will need to present a PCR test and undergo a 10-day quarantine in a hotel or your residence upon arrival.


While international flight bans are not in place yet and you can travel abroad to meet your family, in light of the latest Covid situation, it is best to stay put. However, if you do want to travel for emergency purposes, we at Alserv, offer elder care services in Coimbatore, Chennai, Kochi and other places, and can help you plan your travel with utmost safety and protection.